Article 2, Part 8 – Missing Student Notification Policy
§ 2-803 Handling
If university law enforcement determines that a student, for whom a missing persons report has been filed, has been missing for 24 hours and has not returned to the campus, the university will notify the confidential contact as identified by the student in the student registration system, and appropriate university officials.
- For students under 18 years of age, the university must also notify a custodial parent or guardian not later than 24 hours after any student is determined to be missing, unless the student has been emancipated and has submitted proof of the same to the university.
- The university will notify other appropriate law enforcement agencies no later than 24 hours after a student is determined to be missing, including local law enforcement that has jurisdiction in the area that the student is reported missing.
A person that suspects a student has been missing for 24 hours should contact the University of Illinois Police Department or the Dean of Students Office to make a report. Students in University Housing may also report the matter to the Resident Director. The Dean of Students Office and University Housing shall then immediately convey the information to the University of Illinois Police Department.